20:27 01.03.2024

Switzerland backs EU's 13th package of anti-Russian sanctions

2 min read
Switzerland backs EU's 13th package of anti-Russian sanctions

Switzerland has joined the European Union's 13th package of sanctions on Russia, approving both its extended sanctions list and restrictive trade measures, Swiss authorities have said.

"The Federal Department of Economic Affairs, Education and Research (EAER), which is responsible for sanctions, decided on 29 February to impose further sanctions against Russia. Switzerland is thus joining the 13th sanctions package of the European Union," the Swiss Federal Council's website stated.

In particular, Switzerland has added 106 individuals and 88 entities to its lists.

Switzerland also imposed additional trade sanctions "to further prevent Russia from acquiring sensitive goods and technologies for the Russian military associated to Russia's military-industrial complex," it said.

The list of banned exports has also widened. For example, in compliance with the 13th sanctions package, it now includes the sale and export of components used in designing and manufacturing unmanned aerial vehicles (UAVs).

The sanctions are effective from 6 p.m. (8 p.m. Moscow time) March 1.

The package was approved by the EU on February 23. Among the newly added 106 individuals and 88 entities are ten Russians and Russian entities associated with supposed North Korean arms supplies to Russia, Brussels said.

The restrictions also apply to North Korean Defense Minister Kang Sun-nam and several Belarusian companies and individuals for their assistance to the Russian Armed Forces.

The latest additions also include 27 entities which "directly provide assistance" to the Russian defense industry.

The new package also further restricts exports of certain products used in UAV production, including electronic transformers, static converters and inductors which can be used as drone components.

Aluminum condensers used for military purposes are also now banned.

The restrictions on import and export controls will apply to companies from China, India, Serbia, Kazakhstan, Thailand, Turkey and Sri Lanka, the EU Council said.

It also added the United Kingdom to the number of EU partners participating in anti-Russian sanctions on iron and steel imports.